Freezing, Deactivating, and Removing Litify Users

This article covers the steps required to freeze and deactivate Users accounts, as well as how to remove Users from an organization's Litify license. 

Administrators can deactivate a User at any time. Deactivated Users still appear among your Users, but they do not have access to anything on your org and they are unable to log in to Salesforce. Additionally, administrators can remove Users from their organization's Litify license in-order to free up spots for new staff.

You cannot completely delete a User from your org. Deactivation is the only way to remove a User's access to your org. 

Freezing a User's Account

Administrators can freeze a User's account before deactivating if the User is thoroughly involved in hierarchies and sharing. This is often a prefered first step in locking down a User's account, as it will take more time to deactivate them. This will keep the user from logging in while you complete the deactivation process. You will not lose this User's records.

To freeze a User's account, follow the steps below:

  1. Click the cog INT-1708210940___Salesforce.pngin the upper-right corner and select Setup
  2. In the Quick Find box, search for and select Users.
  3. On the All Users page, locate the User you whose account you wish to freeze and click their name. 
  4. On the User's page, click Freeze.
    • After freezing an account, you will notice that this button changes to "Unfreeze". Click Unfreeze to restore the User's access to their account.

Annotation_on_2021-07-19_at_09-39-02.png

Deactivating a User

Deactivation is a more extreme step beyond freezing an account. This is mainly reserved for Users you know will no longer be logging into your organization to perform work. 

As a reminder, ensure that the User you are deactivating is not an integration user for one of your 3rd party integrations (ex. DocuSign, AssureSign, RingCentral, SMS Magic etc). Usually, this won't be the case if they are not a System Administrator.

  1. Freeze the User whose account you wish to deactivate.
  2. Click the cog INT-1708210940___Salesforce.png in the upper-right corner and select Setup
  3. In the Quick Find box, search for and select Users.
  4. On the All Users page, locate the User you are removing from your firm and click their name. 
  5. On the User's page, click Edit.

    Annotation_on_2021-07-19_at_09-40-47.png

  6. Uncheck the Active checkbox.
  7. Scroll to the bottom of the page and click Save.
  8. After deactivating the User, remove them from your Litify license to make the license available for another User.

Deactivating Users removes them from all groups and sharing privileges. You can still transfer a User's records to an active User. 

Remove a User From a License

Removing a User from your organization's Litify license is a good way to free up license slots.

  1. Freeze the User's account.
  2. Remove the user from any Default Matter Teams where they exist. 
  3. Click the cog INT-1708210940___Salesforce.pngin the upper-right corner and select Setup
  4. In the Quick Find box, search for and select Users.
  5. Click the name of the person you want to remove from your Litify license.
  6. Scroll until you see Managed Packages.
  7. Next to Litify, click Remove.
  8. Deactivate the User whose license spot you wish to remove.

Related Articles

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful