Using the Docrio Check-In/Check-Out Feature

Docrio allows users to check-out and check back in documents while working on them. This feature can be used to prevent multiple people editing a document at once. To prevent users from uploading new versions of a document. Or to ensure that documents are not altered during certain phases of a case.

This article helps to outline this feature so that your users can get the most out of it. This article will also cover any prerequisites needed to properly configure this feature, as well as covering some FAQs that you and your organization might encounter.

Table of Contents 

  1. Prerequisites 
  2. Checking-Out a Document 
  3. Checking-In a Document
  4. Edit + Check Out
  5. Requesting a Document be Checked-In
  6. View Document Versions and History
  7. View Versions
  8. View History
  9. FAQ
  10. Related Articles

Prerequisites 

To take advantage of this feature, users must be granted the "Check In / Check Out" file action from the Docrio Admin Settings (see image below). After granting this permission, users in your organization will see, and be able to select, the Check Out and Check In file actions from the file actions drop-down within Docrio.

Screen_Shot_2021-12-06_at_9.15.54_AM.png

Additionally, there is a Cancel Check Out file action that you will likely want to grant administrators who assist in managing documentation. This file action allows an admin to force a document to be checked back in. Like other file actions of ours, Cancel Check Out requires that the profile group also be granted the "Check In / Check Out" action via the Docrio Admin Settings page.

Checking-Out a Document 

This section will cover the process for checking out a document that you wish to work on. 

  1. Locate the document that you wish to work on within Docio. 
  2. Once located, expand the Actions drop-down to the right of the document and click Check Out.

    Annotation_on_2021-12-06_at_09-02-57__1_.png

  3. A confirmation box will appear notifying you that the checked out item will remain checked out indefinitely. Click Check Out to continue.
  4. A confirmation window will appear at the top of your screen letting you know that you’ve successfully checked out the document.

    Screen_Shot_2021-12-06_at_9.19.24_AM.png

  5. A lock icon will appear under the document confirming that you’ve checked it out—the History Record is also updated when files are checked in or out. Hovering over the lock icon will display detailed information about who has the document checked out, and when they checked it out.

    Screen_Shot_2021-12-06_at_9.19.40_AM.png

If the Check Out option does not appear in the Actions drop-down of a file, it is likely because the document is already checked out—or possibly because you have not been granted the Check In / Check Out file action. You can request that the document be checked back in by clicking on the Request Check In button. If neither of these options appear, this feature is likely not enabled—possibly because you are using a version of Docrio prior to v9. 

File Actions Unavailable While Items are Checked-Out

While a document is checked-out the list of available file actions that can be performed on that document are limited. 

The following file actions cannot be performed on a file that is checked out by someone else in your org:

  • Create External Link
  • Delete File
  • Edit File
  • New Version
  • Split PDF

The two images below compare the available file actions for a file that is not checked out (1), versus one that is checked out by a colleague (2). 

1.Screen_Shot_2021-12-07_at_1.15.13_PM.png 2.Screen_Shot_2021-12-07_at_1.26.36_PM.png

Keep in mind that available file actions are also going to be limited based on the users permission, and which actions have been granted to them via the Docrio Admin Settings page. 

Checking-In a Document 

Once you’re done working on a document you have checked-out, you should check it back in so that others can access it if needed. This section will cover the process of checking a document back in. 

  1. Locate the document that you’ve checked out. 
  2. Expand the Actions drop-down to the right side of the checked-out file and click Check In.

    Screen_Shot_2021-12-06_at_9.24.00_AM.png

  3. You will receive a confirmation message at the top of your screen to let you know that your document has been successfully checked back in.

    Screen_Shot_2021-12-06_at_9.24.33_AM.png

Alternatively, you can check a document back in by creating a new version of it. To do this, either click the New Version action under the file actions menu for the check-out file, or click the New Version button from the Version tab of the detail panel (see image below). When choosing this option you will be prompted to upload a new version of the selected document.

Annotation_on_2021-12-07_at_13-37-39.png

You can also save a new version of a checked-out file using the Docrio Desktop App. After modifying a document using the "check-out + edit" file action, when you click Save the document will be checked back in.

Edit + Check Out

You can also Edit and Check Out a document at the same time..

  1. Locate the file that you wish to edit.
  2. Expand the Actions menu to the right of the document and click Edit + Check Out.
  3. A confirmation window will appear at the top of your screen letting you know that you’ve successfully checked out the document.
  4. The document will be opened up on your local machine read to be edited. 

Requesting a Document be Checked-In

If someone else has checked-out a document that you wish to work on you can request that they check the document back in. 

  1. Locate the file that is checked out that you wish be checked back in. 
  2. Expand the Actions drop-down to the right of the document and click Request Check In.

    Annotation_on_2021-12-06_at_09-22-59.png

  3. A window will appear letting you know that an email notification will be sent to the user that has the document checked-out. This email notification will request that they check the document back in. If you wish to proceed with this action, click Request Check In.

Cancelling a Check Out

Users with the Cancel Check Out file action can force a file that is checked to be checked back in. This can be especially helpful when someone's on vacation, unreachable, or has just left the company and you need to access the file they had checked-out.

  1. Locate the file that needs to be checked back in.
  2. Expand the drop-down menu in the Actions column of the checked-out item and click Cancel Check Out
  3. The checked-out item is checked back in.
    • If the user who had checked-out the file was editing it through the Docrio Desktop App, none of those edits will have been applied. The version that was checked-out, is the version that is checked back in.

View Document Versions and History

Every time a user checks-out a document, makes edits, and checks that file back in a new version is created. Users can go back and view previous versions of a document to see what was changed.

There are two ways to view previous versions of a document.

  1. Locate the document within Docrio, expand the Actions drop-down, and click View Versions.

  2. Alternatively, you can select the file within Docrio so that its detail view appears. Afterwards, click the Versions tab to view the previous versions of the document.

The history tab is also beneficial in that it logs which actions were taken on a document, by which user, on which date. These records can be invaluable in tracking down who made changes to a document that you need to know more about. 

There are also two ways to view the history of a document.

  1. Locate the document within Docrio, expand the Actions drop-down, and click View History.

  2. Alternatively, you can select the file within Docrio so that its detail view appears. Afterwards, click the History tab to view the document’s history.

FAQ

Below are some frequently asked questions that you uor your organization might have about this feature. 

Can I set a duration for checked-out documents?

  • No. Checked out documents will remain checked-out until the user that checked them out checks them back in. Admins can also use the Cancel Check Out file action to force a file to be checked back in.

So, does that mean checked-out files are checked-out indefinitely?

  • Yes.

Does checking-in or checking-out a document get recorded somewhere?

  • Yes. These actions are stored in the document’s history. 

Can I bulk check-in or check-out documents? 

  • Not at this time.

Related Articles

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful